Reality Check

No, I haven’t disappeared off the planet just yet, but haven’t been able to blog here for awhile now… It was fine while I was on three weeks holidays, then back to work for a week, and wham I caught some ghastly bug. And to be honest I couldn’t of cared less if the computer did a dance around the room, I was totally out of it.

It begs the question, just where do people find the time for all this new (new to me) Library and Web 2.0 stuff???
There’s only so many hours in each day, and if you work full-time and in my case study as well, run a house, manage teenagers, and somehow also try to squeeze a little time in for yourself like reading, movies, gardening etc… just where is the time for all this?

I have just about caught up with my RSS feeds and emails, but this all takes time. I would love to investigate Ning and Secondlife further, but everytime I try to open up either one my computer does a total dummy spit, couple this with the s..l..o..w..e..s..t internet connection in the WORLD, but that’s another story…😦

Maybe it’s a matter of organising your time more effectively?
How do other people manage? I’d love to hear from you if you have any tips!!

Posted in Blogs. 2 Comments »

2 Responses to “Reality Check”

  1. Kathryn Greenhill Says:

    *Being paid for about 1/10 of the 2.0 stuff I do helps – I’m lucky because it’s more than most librarians get paid for.
    * Having my PC in a nook just off the kitchen in the middle of the house where I can pop in several times an hour helps
    * Pure bloody minded obsession works for me – this is FUN and I’m happy to call it a hobby
    * My kids, and the students my library will serve soon, are natives to this stuff, so I see this as a way to avoid an unbridgeable chasm growing between me and them.
    * Sometimes I press the “mark all as read” button for the whole jing bang lot of my RSS feeds and watch the pretty sight of them all disappearing. Aaah.
    * I also had about 6 months where I cut my sleep to about 6 hours a night – not deliberately ..there was just so much to LEARN

  2. Kay Says:

    Hi there Kathryn, I particularly liked the point that you made about “mark as read” for your RSS feeds🙂

    Now why didn’t I think of that!!! Instead of trying to read each and every one of them🙂 I currently get about 50 each day, so times that by even one week… scary

    Plus, I think I need to remind myself that I don’t have to learn everything all at once🙂

    I absolutely love the new technologies that are emerging! You sent me a message a few weeks ago warning how addictive this all is, boy were you right about that🙂

    I think I need to step back a bit and really think about what it is I am trying to achieve, and then create a sensible approach to tackling it all!

    After all, Rome wasn’t built in a day, and I sure ain’t superwoman🙂


Leave a Reply

